When CUNY Baccalaureate was established by a Resolution of the University on February 22, 1971, that Resolution set up the following governance structure.

The governing body for CUNY Baccalaureate is a University Committee that advises the Academic Director on the administration, coordination, and development of the program. The faculty members of this committee are responsible for: recommending the awarding of degrees to the CUNY Board of Trustees; approving, auditing, and certifying the academic policies and procedures governing the program; and overseeing student appeals on programmatic policies, and procedures.

The University Committee is composed of faculty, administrators, and students. The membership of the Committee is:

  • the President of The Graduate Center or his/her designee
  • the Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs or his/her designee
  • a CUNY college president chosen by the Council of Presidents for a one-year term, or his/her designee
  • six faculty members and two alternates from different colleges and different disciplines chosen by the University Faculty Senate for staggered (two) three-year terms
  • five CUNY Baccalaureate students nominated by the Academic Director and approved by the University Student Senate for one-year terms.

Students interested in serving on this Committee should contact the Academic Director. Each academic year, the University Committee elects a chairperson from among the Committee’s faculty members.

Faculty Members

Prof. Nancy Aries
Baruch College
Public Affairs; Director Baruch Honors Program

Prof. Margaret Carroll (Chair, 2014-15)
Medgar Evers College

Prof. Paula Massood
Brooklyn College

Dr. Joanne Spurza
Hunter College
Classical and Oriental Studies

Prof. Ying Zhu
Media Culture
College of Staten Island

Prof. Patrick O’Halloran
New York City College of Technology
Hospitality Management

Prof. Gerald Van Loon
New York City College of Technology
Hospitality Management

Prof. Emily Tai
Queensborough Community College

Administration Members

Dr. Terrence Martell (Ex Officio)
Chair, University Faculty Senate

Dr. Vita Rabinowitz
Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
: Dr. Lucinda Zoe
University Dean for Academic Initiatives

Dr. Chase Robinson
Interim President of The Graduate Center
Designee: Dr. David Olin
Interim Associate Provost and Dean for Academic Affairs

Dr. Ann Kirschner
University Dean, Macaulay Honors College
Designee: Dr. Joseph Ugoretz
Associate Dean, Macaulay Honors College

Student Members

Christopher Fiore, City College
Ilana Gelb, Baruch College
Veronica Chin Hing, Brooklyn College
Brian Miller, City College
Adam Poplawski, John Jay College
Adam Raabe, Hunter College
Anthony Reinhart, John Jay College
Nadege Willis, Queens College

Dates, times, locations at the Graduate Center for 2015-16 meetings:

Wednesday, October 14, 2-4PM  Room 8400
Friday, December 4, 2-4PM  Room 8106
Friday, March 4, 2-4 PM  Room 8400
Friday, May 6, 2-4PM  Room 8400